Virtual Surveyor can connect to a team Dropbox account, a personal Dropbox account or both. So what is the difference between a team and personal Dropbox account? And what is the difference between a personal and a team space in the Dropbox team accounts?
Dropbox Account Types
There are 2 types of accounts in Dropbox: personal accounts and team accounts. With personal accounts you only have a personal space. All your projects are in your personal space and you manage all access rights to your Virtual Surveyor projects yourself. With team accounts, you have, in addition to a personal space, also team spaces. All members of a team space automatically have access rights to a project that is located in that team space.
The Difference: Manage Access Rights
Creating a Virtual Surveyor project in a personal or a team space will not influence your own access. You will continue to have access from any of the trusted devices you work on. However, it will influence how other people have or can get access.
Team Space On a Team Account
Your company admin sets the access rights on the team space. The admin can set view or edit access for every team member individually. Read more on Dropbox help. The team space will not be visible if you don’t have access rights. You can open, create and edit projects in the team space if you are granted Edit access to the team space. All the other members of the team space will also be able to access those projects. You will be able to open projects in the team space if you are given only View access. These projects will show in Virtual Surveyor in the view only mode.
Personal Space On a Team Account
Only you have access to your projects that are stored in your personal space of a Dropbox team account. Every other person gets access to a certain project if you decide to do so. Your company admin might restrict these privilege's. When you share with a external person they will need to accept the share. But when you share with a colleague they will have access as soon as you have given them access (without further action from them).
You are the data owner and only you have full access control over all projects in your personal Dropbox account. Every other person is seen as an external user and only gets access to a certain project if you decide to do so. The external user will have to accept access to the project that you have shared with them.
|Team accounts||Personal accounts|
|Share externally||DEPENDS ON ADMIN SETTING||YOU|
What to Choose?
How do these account types relate to the subscription plans that Dropbox offers? And what to choose?
A personal account is only useful when you are a one-person company. A plan with a team account is the best choice in most cases. The Advanced plan is really the best choice as you have access to as much space as needed. You know that drone surveying produces huge data volume.
More information on the available Dropbox plans can be found here.
Did You Know?
You can connect your Dropbox to the free Valley version as well. One more reason to start right away with a Dropbox team account.